Appraisal License Requirements
Appraisal Licensing in Tennessee
Tennessee Real Estate Appraisers must be licensed or certified. In addition to a Trainee, there are three levels of licensing recognized in Tennessee and each has specific education and experience requirements.
Significant changes were adopted by the AQB effective January 1, 2008 and the current requirements are:
|License Levels||Basic Education Requirements||College Level Requirements||Experience|
|Trainee (TR)||75 Hours||N/A||N/A|
|Licensed (LI)||150 Hours||N/A||2,000 Hours (accumulated over at least a 24 month period)|
|Certified Residential (CR)||200 Hours||Associate Degree*||2,500 Hours (accumulated over at least a 24 month period)|
|Certified General (CG)||300 Hours||Bachelors Degree**||3,000 Hours that include at least 1,500 non-residential hours (accumulated over at least a 30 month period)|
* In lieu of the Associate Degree, an applicant can complete 21 college semester credits in courses covering specific subject matters: English Composition; Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers (Word Processing/Spreadsheets); and Business or Real Estate Law.
** In lieu of the Bachelors Degree, an applicant can complete 30 college semester credits in courses covering specific subject matters: English Composition; Micro Economics; Macro Economics; Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers (Word Processing/Spreadsheets); and Business or Real Estate law; and two elective courses in accounting, geography, agricultural economics, business management or real estate.
How to Get Your Appraisal License
You must first register as a Trainee which requires:
- High School graduate or GED
- 30-Hour Appraisal Principles course
- 15-Hour National Uniform Standards of Appraisal Principles (USPAP) course
- 30- Hour Basic Appraisal Procedures course
An applicant must also associate with a certified real estate appraiser under whose supervision he/she may work for a period of a minimum of 24 to 30 months.
The Trainee registration application must be completed and submitted with the $125 fee.
To obtain the license, a Trainee must obtain all of the education and experience requirements prior to submitting the license application. Approval by the Appraisal Commission includes submitting three copies of sample appraisals and an interview. Upon approval, applicant will receive information to schedule the exam. Once the exam has been successfully completed, the Commission will issue a license or certificate.
Call Today for Free Information
Want more information?
Please fill out the following form to contact us (*required fields).
Celebrating 26 years of excellence!